New Federal Government Elected

Public news

The 2022 Federal Election has resulted in Labor forming a majority government, with Anthony Albanese becoming the 31st Prime Minister of Australia. Labor is now in government at a national level and in all states and territories other than New South Wales.

To progress the new government’s agenda, Prime Minister Albanese has announced his Ministry for the 47th Australian Parliament. The key Ministers for the automotive industry will be:

  • Brendan O'Connor - Minister for Skills and Training
  • Jason Clare - Minister for Education
  • Tony Burke - Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations
  • Julie Collins - Minister for Small Business
  • Jim Chalmers - Treasurer
  • Stephen Jones - Assistant Treasurer, Minister for Financial Services
  • Chris Bowen - Minister for Climate Change and Energy
  • Tanya Plibersek - Minister for the Environment and Water
  • Ed Husic - Minister for Industry and Science

Industrial relations, skills policies, migration, as well as electric vehicle incentives and climate policies are set to become major national issues of relevance to the automotive industry. A change of minimum wage has already landed as one of Labor’s first actions, with their submission to the Fair Work Commission arguing for a 5.1% increase.

On the Coalition’s side, the Liberal Party has elected Peter Dutton as Opposition Leader, with Sussan Ley his Liberal Deputy. David Littleproud was elected as the National Party leader, making him the Deputy Leader of the Federal Coalition.

Peter Dutton has also recently announced his shadow cabinet. While the full details are forthcoming, so far we know of the following appointments of relevance to automotive:

  • Sussan Ley will take on the shadow industry portfolio;
  • Michaelia Cash will be responsible for employment and industrial relations;
  • Angus Taylor will hold the Shadow Treasury portfolio;
  • Alan Tudge will be Shadow Education Minister;
  • Jane Hume becomes Shadow Finance Minister;
  • Stuart Robert will become Shadow Assistant Treasurer; and
  • Dan Tehan moves into immigration.

Together with our national association, the Motor Trades Association of Australia,working with all sides of politics will be a key focus for the MTA going forward. Whether it’s skill shortages, working with industry in the transition to new automotive technology or the cost of doing business – we will be working hard to deliver your priorities and promote the significant contribution that the South Australian and Northern Territory automotive industries make to the national economy.