Congratulations to our automotive graduates!

Public news

The Motor Trade Association of South Australia (MTA) held our annual graduation ceremony on Friday June 1 celebrating the success and hard work of 96 graduating automotive apprentices.

MTA CEO Paul Unerkov congratulated the successful apprentices, their family and friends saying, “this was a great moment for each graduating apprentice as they reflected on their four year journey with the MTA’s Automotive Training and Employment Centre. Their hard work has paved the way for their success and they now have a chance to make the most of the opportunities their qualification has given them.”

“An apprenticeship in the automotive industry can lead to many opportunities and with a skills shortage for qualified technicians, it is an exciting time to enter the automotive industry. The MTA is the largest GTO in the state and we are looking to grow the number of apprentices we train to help fill the skills shortage currently being experienced by the automotive industry.”

Minister for Industry and Skills David Pisoni attended the ceremony and spoke on the night about celebrating the achievement of our graduates.

The MTA was also pleased to have DJR Team Penske’s Managing Director, Team Principal and South Australian Ryan Story attend as guest speaker, congratulating our graduates and highlighting his career in the automotive and Motorsport industries.

Winner of the Apprentice of the Year Award Jacob Shubin said, “I hope that other apprentices can see what you can achieve and use those achievements as fuel for their apprenticeship. I will continue to work in the automotive industry, and hope to work my way up to a management position. The best aspect I have learnt from my apprenticeship is life skills and the best advice I can give future apprentices is to work hard and give everything you have.”

Lewis De Luca who won a Certificate of Merit said that he is pleased with his achievements over the last four years.

“It was a long journey but I am glad I finished. The best advice I can give to apprentices of the future is to keep your head down and stay focussed on the job. You need to put in the hard yards to finish your apprenticeship. You may face challenges along the way but you will get through it.”

A full list of award winners can be found below:

2017 MTA Award Winners




Apprentice of the Year

MTAA Super

Jacob Shubin

Liebherr Australia

Apprentice of the Year Merit Certificate

Lewis De Luca


Apprentice of the Year Merit Certificate

Dale Hawke

Adelaide BMW and MINI Garage

1st Year Apprentice of the Year


Ryan Betts

Newspot Suzuki

1st Year Apprentice of the Year Merit Certificate

Luke Rainsford-Green

Rhino Crash Repairs

1st Year Apprentice of the Year Merit Certificate

James Kissell

Emmetts Oakbank

2nd Year Apprentice of the Year

Hip Pocket

Sam Michels

Genio Auto Services Pty Ltd

2nd Year Apprentice of the Year Merit Certificate

Dwyane Van Gelder

Kads Truck N Diesel

2nd Year Apprentice of the Year Merit Certificate

Jacob Liebelt

Booth Transport

3rd Year Apprentice of the Year

MAS National

Heath Macfarlan

Adelaide Motors Pty Ltd

3rd Year Apprentice of the Year Merit Certificate

Alex Pitt

Adelaide Motors Pty Ltd

3rd Year Apprentice of the Year Merit Certificate

Adam Zito

Sovereign Auto Repairs

Bob Goldsworthy


Graydon Brand

St Peters Crash Repairs

Training Centre Student of the Year


Ross Magiafoglou

Adelaide Motors

The MTA also acknowledged apprentices who took part the Motorsport Repair Team with Ryan Story congratulating everyone who has successfully completed their apprenticeship and took part in an area of the automotive industry he holds close.

The MTA thanks our sponsors that contributed to the success of the evening. Our Gold sponsors included MTAA Super and MAS National. Silver sponsors included Capricorn, Hip Pocket and REDARC. Bronze sponsors included PPG, MEGT, SP Tools, Care D / Norton and with other sponsors including I-CAR, OurAuto and Business SA.

Images from the night can be viewed on the MTA’s Apprenticeship Facebook page by clicking here.